Board of Governors

The Full Governing Body meets every term, and works closely with teaching staff to ensure effective governance.

At the first meeting of each academic year, the Governing Body elects a Chair and Vice Chair and allocates the governing body members to various roles according to experience, training and personal interest in the matters arising within each group.

Responsibilities of the Governing Body include the monitoring and review of financial management, property, personnel issues, the review of academic progress and the School Improvement Plan and curriculum issues.

In 2021/2022 academic year, the local governing bodies of Hemington Primary School and Leigh on Mendip Primary School have committed to working together to strengthen the support and challenge for both schools.

Hemington Primary Local Governing Body currently consists of:

Name Category Appointment & Resignation Dates Current Term of Office Attendance 2020/21 Attendance 2021/22 Declaration of Pecuniary Business Interests Contact
Ty Schlechter Chair- Director Appointed 1/11/2018 - 14/10/2022 2 years 6/6 4/4 none ty.schlechter@msnpartnership.com
Naomi de Chastelain Headteacher 1/09/14 n/a 6/6 3/4 none ndechastelain@hemingtonprimary.co.uk
Jeff Hunt Director Appointed 1/08/2018 - 21/06/2022 2 years 4/6 2/4 none jhunt@msnpartnership.com
Melanie Walcot Community Governor 29/06/21 - 28/6/2023 2 years 1/1 1/4 none melanie.walcot@msnpartnership.com
Mary Sanford Co-opted Governor 29/09/21 - 28/09/2023 2 years n/a 4/4 none mary.sanford@msnpartnership.com
Lorraine Wellman Co-opted Governor 29/09/21 - 28/09/2023 2 years n/a 3/4 none lorraine.wellman@msnpartnership.com
Sally Campbell Staff Governor 18/11/20 - 17/11/2022 2 years 4/5 3/4 none scampbell@hemingtonprimary.co.uk
Catherine Farmer Parent   29/9/2021- 28/09/2025  4 years  n/a  4/4  Yes catherine.farmer@msnpartnership.com
Nick Tunstall Parent 29/9/2021 -28/09/2025 4 years n/a 4/4 none nick.tunstall@msnpartneship.com
Matilda Bathurst Director Apppointed 1/11/2018-14/10/2022 2 years 5/6 4/4 none matilda.bathurst@msnpartnership.com
Dan Turull Director Appointed 17/12/20 -16/12/2022 2 years 4/4 4/4 Yes dan.turull@msnpartnership.com
Philip Watts Director Appointed 12/02/2021 -12/02/2023 2 Years 3/3 4/4 none philip.watts@msnpartnership.com
Sue Queenborough Community 23/06/2021 -22/06/2025 4 years 1/1  4/4 none sue.queenborough@msnpartnership.com
Louise Phillips Headteacher 01/09/2018 n/a 6/6 3/4 none lphillips@leighonmendipschool.co.uk
Sarah Claxton Clerk 16/04/2007 n/a 6/6 2/2 none sclaxton@leighonmendipschool.co.uk
Christine Iles Clerk 21/10/2019 n/a 6/6 2/2 none ciles@hemingtonprimary.co.uk

 

 Details of Governors who have stepped down in the previous 12 months:

 

Name         Category Appointment & Resignation dates Current Term of Office Attendance 2020/21 Attendance 2021/22 Pecuniary Business Interests Contact
Julie Roberts Chair 21/05/18 - 28/02/22 2 years 5/6 2/3 none n/a
Tanya  Gibbs Director Appointed 25/10/2018 -24/10/2021 1 year 6/6 1/1 none tgibbs@nortonhillschool.com
Paula Branco Layland Community 20/09/2017 -19/09/2021 4 years 5/6 0/1 none n/a
Esther patton Staff 01/11/2020 -01/2/2022 2 years 5/6 1/1 none n/a

 

Meeting Dates 2021/2022:

 

Term 1  29/9/2021
Term 2  17/11/2021
Term 3  26/1/2022
Term 4  9/3/2022
Term 5  18/5/2022
Term 6  30/6/2022

 

Please click here to see our register of pecuniary interests.

 

For full details of the structure of the current Governing Body as well as the records of attendance, please refer to the Midsomer Norton Schools Partnership website.