Board of Governors

The Full Governing Body meets every term, and works closely with teaching staff to ensure effective governance.

At the first meeting of each academic year, the Governing Body elects a Chair and Vice Chair and allocates the governing body members to various roles according to experience, training and personal interest in the matters arising within each group.

Responsibilities of the Governing Body include the monitoring and review of financial management, property, personnel issues, the review of academic progress and the School Improvement Plan and curriculum issues.

The local governing bodies of Hemington Primary School and Leigh on Mendip Primary School have committed to working together to strengthen the support and challenge for both schools.

Hemington Primary and Leigh-on-Mendip Local Governing Body currently consists of:

Name Category Appointment & Resignation Dates Current Term of Office Attendance 2022/23 Attendance 2023/24 Declaration of Pecuniary Business Interests Contact
Catherine Farmer Chair/Parent 1/09/2023 - 28/09/2025 2 years 6/6   Director/Employee of CIC Jump Start Therapy providing services to a school within the Trust
Alun Randell Headteacher 12/10/22 n/a 6/6   none
Melanie Walcot Community Governor 29/06/21 - 28/6/2023 2 years 5/6   Employee - University of Bristol (Self) Research Collaborations - CEUA, Boehringer Ingelheim, DSTL
Sally Campbell Staff Governor 18/11/20 - 11/10/2026 4 years 5/6   none
Sophie Flook Community Governor 5/7/23 - 4/7/23 4 years 1/1   none
Dan Turull Director Appointed 17/12/20 -11/10/2026 4 years 6/6   none
Kerrie Courtier Director Appointed 12/10/22 - 11/10/2026 4 years 6/6   none
Louise Phillips Headteacher 01/09/2018 n/a 6/6   none
Christine Iles Clerk 21/10/2019 n/a n/a   none




Please click here to see our register of pecuniary interests.


For full details of the structure of the current Governing Body as well as the records of attendance, please refer to the Midsomer Norton Schools Partnership website.